THST Undergraduate Conference

In this section

Say Something Theological
Annual Department of Theological Studies
Undergraduate Student Conference
Saturday, April 23, 2022
Theological Studies Village, UH3700


Congratulations to our award winners and our Theta Alpha Kappa Inductees!

The Marie Anne Mayeski Award: AnaMichele Morejon -  Each year, the award is given to a graduating senior in Theological Studies who exemplifies the love of learning and the desire for God, and who has integrated theology into his or her life through research and writing, service, the promotion of justice, and leadership.

The Shannon L. Hamm Award: Annie Kate Oliver -  In memory of Shannon L. Hamm, the award is meant to encourage and recognize the academic and community service achievements of a Theology Major or Minor who is a junior.

The Herbert Ryan Scholarship: Jesus Estrada -  In memory of Herbert J. Ryan, S.J., the scholarship is intended for a rising sophomore or junior THST major with financial need who is also academically deserving.

The Rev. James L. Fredericks Comparative Theology Fellowship (awarded in fall 2021) - Marceline Burnett and Faculty Partner, Dr. Roy Fisher: To honor the legacy of Rev. James L. Fredericks and his commitment to both comparative theological inquiry and interreligious dialogue by supporting joint student (UG/GR) and THST faculty research in comparative theology in order to promote religious literacy through theological inquiry into two religious traditions.

The Thomas P. Rausch, S.J. Scholarship: Megan Glaudini and Rhys Foulke -  In honor of Thomas P. Rausch, S.J., the scholarship is to support a junior THST major who also has a commitment to service. Recipient will have, and maintain, a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Best Paper - Thomas S. Larson, "Dinosaurs and Divinity: Theology Applied to Jurassic Park"

Best Paper Runner Up - Annie Kate Oliver, "The Division Between Guru Nanak's Feminist Ideologies and Contemporary Sikh Practices"

2022 Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society Inductees:

Jesus Franciso Estrada, Jr.
Megan Glaudini 
Annie Kate Oliver
Daria Young
Staff Inductee: Faith Sovilla

Best Paper: Thomas Larson

Best Paper Runner Up: Annie Kate Oliver

Marie Anne Mayeski Award: AnaMichele Morejon

Shannon L. Hamm Award: Annie Kate Oliver

The Rev. James L. Fredericks Comparative Theology Fellowship: Marcelene Burnett and Dr. Roy Fisher

Thomas P. Rausch, S.J. Scholarship: Megan Glaudini

Herbert J. Ryan, S.J. Scholarship: Jesus Estrada


Watch the video replay of the 2021 conference here