San Gabriel Valley Cohort Program

M.A. in Pastoral Theology - San Gabriel Valley Cohort Program

Religious State

Loyola Marymount University's M.A. in Pastoral Theology Program engages the student in critical theological reflection on ministerial practice as preparation for active ministry in a pluralistic society. The program provides theological foundations in pastoral theology, especially in the Roman Catholic tradition, and integrates the formation of persons preparing for pastoral ministry with their study of the Christian theological tradition (spirituality, liturgy, faith and culture, ethics, as well as biblical, historical, and systematic theology, and ecumenical and interreligious dialogue). Throughout the program there is a stress on the holistic relationships between pastoral theology, faith seeking critical understanding, and faith that does justice.

Courses include, but are not limited to:

  • Faith Formation
  • Faith and Culture
  • Hispanic Ministry
  • Sacramental Theology and Liturgy
  • Spiritual Direction
  • Spirituality
  • Theology of Ministry

What makes the San Gabriel Valley Cohort Program unique?

Students enrolled in the San Gabriel Valley Cohort Program study under the same amazing faculty and earn the same M.A. in Pastoral Theology as students enrolled at LMU's Westchester campus. Cohort students enter their three-year program as a cohort*, taking all of their classes together at the campus of St. John the Baptist Parish in Baldwin Park, CA.

Where is the cohort campus located?

The campus of St. John the Baptist Parish is centrally located in the San Gabriel Valley, easily reachable from Downtown LA, Pasadena, Pomona Valley, Inland Empire, San Bernardino, and Orange County. It is located near the 10/605 interchange, less than a mile from a Metrolink station on the L.A./San Bernardino line. The address is 3883 Baldwin Park Blvd., Baldwin Park, CA 91706.

For additional details, please contact the graduate theological studies program administrator, Jennifer Scott.


* The cohort is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges and the Association of Theological Schools.