Core Requirements

All students at Loyola Marymount University take 13 courses in the University’s Core Curriculum, which creates a common intellectual foundation among all students. The Core emphasizes intellectual, creative/artistic, and moral development – and is central to our mission to educate the whole person.

2023 LMU Core graphic 1600 px

Core Curriculum Flag Requirement:

All students must also earn the Engaged Learning flag. A grade of "D" or better is required for the FLAG course. The flagged course must be taken at LMU. The University does not count transfer courses towards the flag requirement.

The Core at BCLA:

BCLA offers the majority of core courses at LMU each semester; many BCLA students can fulfill between 4 and 6 core requirements and the Engaged Learning flag within their own major. Students may fulfill one core area requirement per course. A grade of "C-" or better is required for all CORE courses.

Use your department’s Additional Academic Resources or consult your faculty advisor to strategically choose courses that fulfill core and major requirements at the same time. 

Flag Guidelines for Students Transferring to LMU with:

Starting Fall 2022 all incoming and continuing students will only need to complete the Engaged Learning Flag (LENL).

Advanced Placement Credits and Core Curriculum:

Students may recieve core credit for AP examinations that receive a minimum score of 4. No more than two Explorations core requirments can be fulfilled through AP exam credits.