Bellarmine logo

Huffington Ecumenical Institute


Orthodox Church


a. Eastern Orthodox Church

Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople

Site of the highest see and holiest center of the Orthodox Christian Church throughout the world, which constitutes the center of all the local Orthodox Churches, heading these not by administration but by virtue of its primacy in the ministry of pan-Orthodox unity and the coordination of the activity of the whole of Orthodoxy.

Other members of the Pentarchy:


Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Jerusalem

Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Antioch and of All the East

Moscow Patriarchate and

Standing Conference of the Canonical Orthodox Bishops in the Americas (SCOBA):

SCOBA consists of the canonical hierarchs of Orthodox jurisdictions in the Americas.  The purpose of the Standing Conference is to create and foster ties of unity among the canonical Orthodox Churches and administrations for a stronger and more visible witness to the Orthodox Faith.

Jurisdictions represented by SCOBA:

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America:

Antiochian Orthodox Christian Archdiocese of North America:

Serbian Orthodox Church in North and South America:

American Carpatho Russian Orthodox Diocese in the USA:

Romanian Orthodox Archdiocese in the Americas:

Bulgarian Eastern Orthodox Diocese of the USA, Canada and Australia:

The Orthodox Church in America:

Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the USA:

Representation of the Moscow Patriarchate in the USA:

Albanian Orthodox Diocese of America:

b. Oriental Orthodox Church

Armenian Apostolic Church:

Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin:

Holy See of Cilicia:

Coptic Orthodox Church:

Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church:

Eritrean Orthodox Tewahedo Church:
No international site; US site is

Syrian Orthodox Church:

Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church (Indian Orthodox Church):

c. Church of the East

Nestorian Church:
No official website; unofficial informational site at


Catholic Church


a. Latin Church:

The Vatican:
Exhaustive information in a variety of languages regarding the Western Church and Vatican publications (encyclicals, constitutions, etc.)

The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops:
Governing body of the US Catholic Church.  General information and links on the Catholic Church in America.

Archdiocese of Los Angeles:
General information on the Catholic Church in Los Angeles and Southern California.

Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity:
This Pontifical Council (formerly a secretariat) was established in 1960 with a twofold purpose: "the promotion, within the Catholic Church, of an authentic ecumenical spirit," and the aim "to develop dialogue and collaboration with the other Churches and World Communions."

b. Eastern Catholic Churches in the United States

Byzantine Catholic Churches:

Italo-Greek Albanian Catholic Church:

No hierarchical structure in the United States; canonical jurisdiction falls to the local Roman Catholic ordinary.

- Our Lady of Wisdom, Las Vegas, NV:
- Our Lady of Grace Greek Catholic Mission/Society, Staten Island, NY:


Melkite Eparchy of Newton:


Eparchy of St. George in Canton for the Romanians:


Byzantine Catholic Archeparchy of Pittsburgh:


No hierarchical structure in the United States; parishes are associated with various other Eastern Catholic Eparchies.

- St. Michael's Chapel, New York, NY:
- Our Lady of Fatima, San Francisco, CA:
- St. Elizabeth of Hungary, Denver, CO:
- St. Andrew, El Segundo, CA:


Eparchy of Saints Cyril and Methodius in Toronto of the Byzantine Slovaks:


Metropolitan Archeparchy of Philadelphia:

Non-Byzantine Catholic Churches:

Armenian Catholic:

Eparchy of Our Lady of Nareg in New York of the Armenians:


Eparchy of St. Thomas the Apostle of Detroit:

Eparchy of St. Peter the Apostle in San Diego of the Chaldeans:

Coptic Catholics:

No hierarchical structure in North America; subject to the local Latin Ordinary.

Parishes and communities:
- St. Mary Coptic Catholic Church, Los Angeles:

Ethiopian and Eritrean (Ge'ez) Catholics:

No hierarchical structure in North America; subject to the local Latin Ordinary.


Eparchy of St. Maron of Brooklyn:

Eparchy of Our Lady of Lebanon of Los Angeles:

Syriac Catholic Church:

Eparchy of Our Lady of Deliverance in Newark of the Syriacs:

Syro-Malabar Catholic Church:

Eparchy of St. Thomas of Chicago:

Syro-Malankara Catholic Church:

While there is currently and Apostolic Visitator for Syro-Malankara Catholics in North America, U.S. Syro-Malankara Catholics are subject to the local Latin Ordinary.

Suggestions for links to be included on this page may be sent to Katherine Lash at